Funded Projects

The Seeding Food Innovation program was created to catalyze the development of trans-disciplinary research that address sustainable food and health challenges that will both impact Canadians and are of global concern. The program provides short-term grants of up to $250,000 as seed funding for novel, translational research projects.


SEEDING FOOD INNOVATION – AWARDED PROJECTS - 2016

Cultivating Innovations in Ecological Agriculture: Growing EFAO's Farmer-Led Research Program

Grantees: Dr. Sarah Hargreaves
Description: Farmer adoption of ecological farming practices – those that conserve water, regenerate soil and biodiversity and reduce energy and chemical inputs – is critical to the production of more nutritious and sustainably-produced foods and the viability of our farms and rural communities. With growing awareness of the importance of soil health and diversified agriculture, farmer knowledge and innovations are both timely and urgently needed in order to create a truly sustainable agriculture. » More Info

Production and transfer of essential fatty acids in the ocean

Grantees: Dr. Suzanne Budge, Dr. Emmanuel Devred, Dr. Catherine Johnson
Description: To begin to answer this question, we will follow three distinct lines of research. In our first objective, we will measure production rates of two common species of phytoplankton under different growth conditions to capture the variation in fatty acid production throughout the year. Data from these experiments will be used to validate and further refine an existing algorithm that derives fatty acid production from satellite-derived ocean colour measurements. » More Info

Evaluating the dietary protein quality of Canadian pulses to meet human nutrition needs by measuring the metabolic availability of the most limiting amino acids; methionine

Grantees: Dr. Glenda Courtney-Martin, Dr. Rajavel Elango, Dr. Paul B. Pencharz, Dr. Ronald O. Ball, Dr. Christopher Tomlinson Description: The world’s population will reach 12 billion by this century’s end and nations are being challenged to provide enough safe, nutritious foods for all. Protein in foods is made up of 20 amino acids (AAs) needed for growth and bodily function. Animal protein contains all 20 AAs but its production is “more resource intensive than any other form of food production” and its high saturated fat content is linked to chronic diseases. » More Info

Evaluating the impacts of an innovative centrally-procured school food program on student nutrition and the local food economy

Grantees: Dr Jason Gilliland, Dr. Jamie Seabrook, Dr Danielle Battram, Dr. Colleen O’Connor, Dr Paula Dworatzek, Dr. Sarah Woodruff
Description: The Human Environments Analysis Laboratory (HEAL) at Western University is researching an innovative centrally-procured school food program (CPSFP) of the Ontario Student Nutrition Program (OSNP). The CPSFP will be offered at 30 elementary schools in Southwestern Ontario, providing children with fruit and vegetable snacks each day. Using centralized procurement practices, the program aims to improve the nutritional quality of food being offered through the existing school snack program, to positively impact children’s health and development. » More Info

Social and organizational dimensions of climate change mitigation among Alberta’s grain and beef producers

Grantees: Dr. Debra J. Davidson, Dr. Lianne Lefsrud, Dr. Andreas Hamann
Description: This project will involve the identification of innovative practices in the beef and grain sectors with the potential to reduce greenhouse gas emissions, and evaluation of the opportunities and barriers associated with the potential upscaling of these practices. Considering the large role played by agriculture in Alberta, reducing emissions from this sector will be key to achieving the goals of Alberta’s new Climate Leadership Plan. » More Info

 

2019 | 2018 | 2017 | 2016

Projets subventionnés

Le programme Seeding Food Innovation a été créé pour catalyser le développement de la recherche transdisciplinaire qui aborde les défis alimentaires et de santé durables qui auront à la fois un impact sur les Canadiens et sont de préoccupation mondiale. Le programme offre des subventions à court terme pouvant atteindre 250 000 dollars à titre de financement de démarrage pour de nouveaux projets de recherche translationnelle.

PROGRAMME DE SUBVENTIONS POUR LES PROJETS D’INNOVATIONS ALIMENTAIRES 2016 SOMMAIRE DES PROJETS RETENUS

Cultiver l’innovation en éco-agriculture : développement du programme de recherche menée par les agriculteurs de l’EFAO

Bénéficiaires : Dre Sarah Hargreaves Description du projet : L’adoption par les agriculteurs de pratiques agricoles écologiques – qui préservent l’eau, assurent la régénération des sols, protègent la biodiversité et réduisent la consommation énergétique et les intrants chimiques – est indispensable pour produire des aliments plus nutritifs et cultivés de façon écodurable et assurer la pérennité de nos fermes et de nos collectivités rurales. Alors que l’importance de la santé des sols et d’une agriculture diversifiée est de plus en plus reconnue, les connaissances et les innovations des » Plus d'informations

Production et transfert des acides gras essentiels dans l’océan

Bénéficiaires : Dre Suzanne Budge, Dr Emmanuel Devred, Dr Catherine Johnson Description du projet : Pour tenter de répondre à cette question, nous suivrons trois axes de recherche distincts. Premier objectif, nous mesurerons les taux de production de deux espèces courantes de phytoplanctons dans différentes conditions de développement afin de capter la variation dans la production d’acides gras tout au long de l’année. Les données tirées de ces expérimentations seront utilisées pour valider et affiner un algorithme existant qui dérive le taux de production d’acides gras en mesurant la coloration de l’océan par satellite. » Plus d'informations

Évaluation de la qualité des protéines alimentaires contenues dans les légumineuses canadiennes pour répondre aux besoins nutritionnels humains en mesurant la disponibilité métabolique de l’acide aminé le plus limitant, la méthionine

Bénéficiaires : Dre Glenda Courtney-Martin, Dr Rajavel Elango, Dr Paul B. Pencharz, Dr Ronald O. Ball, Dr Christopher Tomlinson Description du projet : D’ici la fin du siècle, la population mondiale atteindra 12 milliards de personnes, mettant chaque pays au défi de fournir assez d’aliments nutritifs et sains pour tous. Les protéines alimentaires sont constituées de 20 acides aminés (AA) indispensables à la croissance et au bon fonctionnement du corps. Les protéines animales contiennent les 20 AA, mais leur production « exige une utilisation plus intensive des ressources que toute autre forme de production alimentaire » et leur teneur élevée en gras saturés est associée » Plus d'informations

Évaluation des effets d’un programme d’alimentation scolaire reposant sur un approvisionnement centralisé sur la nutrition des élèves et l’économie agroalimentaire locale

Bénéficiaires : Dr Jason Gilliland, Dr Jamie Seabrook, Dre Danielle Battram, Dre Colleen O’Connor, Dre Paula Dworatzek, Dre Sarah Woodruff Description du projet : À l’Université Western, le Human Environments Analysis Laboratory (HEAL) mène des recherches sur un programme d’alimentation scolaire reposant sur un approvisionnement centralisé (CPSFP) dans le cadre du Programme de bonne nutrition des élèves de l’Ontario. Le CPSFP sera mis en œuvre auprès de 30 écoles élémentaires dans le Sud-Ouest de l’Ontario et fournira chaque jour aux élèves des collations de fruits et légumes. Faisant appel à des pratiques d’approvisionnement centralisé, le programme vise à améliorer » Plus d'informations

Dimensions socio-organisationnelles des mesures d’atténuation du changement climatique chez les éleveurs bovins et les céréaliers en Alberta

Bénéficiaires : Dre Debra J. Davidson, Dre Lianne Lefsrud, Dr Andreas Hamann Description du projet : Ce projet consistera à identifier des pratiques novatrices dans les secteurs de l’élevage bovin et de la culture céréalière ayant le potentiel de réduire les émissions de gaz à effet de serre. Il visera également à évaluer les possibilités et les obstacles associés à l’amplification potentielle de ces pratiques. Compte tenu de la place prépondérante qu’occupe l’agriculture en Alberta, réduire les émissions dans ce secteur sera décisif pour atteindre les objectifs du nouveau plan de lutte contre les changements climatiques axé sur le leadership » Plus d'informations

2019 | 2018 | 2017 | 2016