Funded Projects

The Seeding Food Innovation program was created to catalyze the development of trans-disciplinary research that address sustainable food and health challenges that will both impact Canadians and are of global concern. The program provides short-term grants of up to $250,000 as seed funding for novel, translational research projects.


SEEDING FOOD INNOVATION – AWARDED PROJECTS - 2017

Food Systems Lab at the University of Toronto: Evaluating the Efficacy and Innovative Potential of Food Waste Awareness Campaigns

Grantees: Dr. Virginia Maclaren, Dr. Tammara Soma, Dr. Rafaela Gutierrez Peppineli, Ms. Belinda Li, Ms. Tamara Shulman
Description: Food waste is a major global issue affecting the entire food supply chain. It is estimated that anywhere between 30% and 50% of food produced for human consumption is wasted globally. In Canada, it is estimated that $31 billion dollars’ worth of food is wasted annually; the true cost of which is actually closer to $107 billion when wasted water, energy and other resources are taken into account. » More Info

Replacing antibiotics in beef cattle production with essential oils and organic acids may improve quality and fatty acid composition of beef products

Grantees: Dr. Benjamin M. Bohrer, Dr. Ira B. Mandell
Description: Overall goals of this research are to investigate the effects of replacing antibiotic therapeutics (monensin and tylosin) with alternatives (essential oil blend and benzoic acid) in feedlot cattle. This study will evaluate live performance, carcass characteristics, cost of production, fresh meat quality, and sensory attributes of beef ribeye and ground beef. » More Info

Improving Aquaculture Feed Sustainability through Use of Genetically Engineered Oils

Grantees: Dr. Stefanie Colombo, Dr. Michael Arts, Dr. Richard Bazinet
Description: Aquaculture will be instrumental in maintaining global food security in the future: up to 40 million metric tonnes of seafood will be required by 2030 to feed the growing human population, and over 60% of seafood will come from aquaculture. Some of the main nutritional benefits of seafood are the omega-3 long chain polyunsaturated fatty acids, namely eicosapentaenoic acid (EPA) and docosahexaenoic acid (DHA), and which have critical roles in cardiovascular and neurological health. » More Info

Replacing Sustainable production of animal protein in the absence of antibiotics

Grantees: Dr. Shayan Sharif, Dr. Raveendra Kulkarni, Dr. Joshua Gong
Description: Antibiotic Growth Promoters (AGPs) have been used for decades in poultry production for growth promotion. However, in view of the worldwide ban of AGPs and the rising concerns over the spread of antibiotic resistance affecting human health, finding alternatives to antibiotics has become a necessity. Although AGPs have been effectively reducing the burden of enteric diseases, the removal of AGPs is likely to precipitate devastating diseases like Necrotic Enteritis (NE). » More Info

Stewardship science technology for monitoring the socio-ecological outcomes of farming practices

Grantees: Dr. Zia Mehrabi, Dr. Navin Ramankutty, Dr. Hannah Wittman
Description: The rise in digital technology and data (smart phones, internet, satellite observations, climate monitoring networks, crop models, statistical learning) offer a way to help assist farmers manage their holdings with higher input efficiently, and for higher profits. This has been well recognized by leading commercial farm management technology providers. Knowledge built from pooling data across farmer networks also offers a way to learn about best practices, and to improve productivity. » More Info

Development and standardization of textured pureed foods for the elderly population

Grantees: Dr. Christine Moresoli, Dr. Lisa Duizer, Dr. Heather Keller
Description: Dysphagia, or difficulty swallowing, is a common condition within the older adult population. Nearly half of Canadian long term care (LTC) residents are prescribed diets with modified textures, where their food will be chopped, minced, pureed or liquefied. Once pureed, the food becomes unidentifiable and its taste and smell can become distinctly different from the original meal. This change in sensory experience may lead to reduced consumption and malnutrition. » More Info

Development of easy-to-prepare pulse-based meals for consumption by office workers to combat the negative health consequences of a sedentary work environment

Grantees: Dr. Phil Chilibeck, Dr. Gordon Zello, Dr. Shannon Hood-Niefer
Description: The project will involve the development of approximately seven “pulse-based” lunches/snacks, which are designed to be easy to prepare (i.e. “out of the package”) for people in a typical busy office work environment. Pulses include non-oil legumes such as lentils, chickpeas, beans, and peas, which are a major component of the Canadian agricultural industry. These meals/snacks will be developed and tested for consumer satisfaction (i.e. by testing taste, texture, aroma, etc.) through the Saskatchewan Food Industry Development Centre Inc. » More Info

Nutrition in Disguise: Improving the nutritional quality of foods for older adults

Grantees: Dr. Heather Keller, Dr. Liza Duizer, Dr. Alison Duncan
Description: The overall goal of this research is to develop food recipes that are rich in vitamins, minerals and other food components known to support the physical and mental health of older adults. A variety of enhanced food recipes will be initially designed for older adults living in residences with applicability to pre-frail and frail older adults living in the community. It is hypothesized that the nutrient density and anti-oxidant potential of menus used in residential environments can be improved in a cost-effective manner with the inclusion of several enhanced food recipes designed for this population. » More Info

 

2019 | 2018 | 2017 | 2016

Projets subventionnés

Le programme Seeding Food Innovation a été créé pour catalyser le développement de la recherche transdisciplinaire qui aborde les défis alimentaires et de santé durables qui auront à la fois un impact sur les Canadiens et sont de préoccupation mondiale. Le programme offre des subventions à court terme pouvant atteindre 250 000 dollars à titre de financement de démarrage pour de nouveaux projets de recherche translationnelle.

PROGRAMME DE SUBVENTIONS POUR LES PROJETS D’INNOVATIONS ALIMENTAIRES 2017 SOMMAIRE DES PROJETS RETENUS

Laboratoire de systèmes alimentaires de lʼuniversité de Toronto : Évaluation de lʼefficacité et du potentiel d’innovation des campagnes de sensibilisation sur le gaspillage alimentaire

Bénéficiaires : Dre Virginia Maclaren, Dre Tammara Soma, Dre Rafaela Gutierrez Peppineli, Mme Belinda Li, Mme Tamara Shulman Description du projet : Le gaspillage alimentaire est un problème mondial affectant toute la chaîne dʼapprovisionnement des aliments. On estime que de 30 à 50 % des aliments produits pour la consommation humaine sont gaspillés à lʼéchelle mondiale. Au Canada, on estime que 31 milliards de dollars de nourriture sont gaspillés annuellement; le coût réel étant en fait plus près de 107 milliards de dollars lorsque l’on prend en compte le gaspillage de l’eau, de l’énergie et des autres ressources. Pour régler ce problème, des campagnes de » Plus d'informations

Le remplacement des antibiotiques dans la production de bœuf par des huiles essentielles et des acides biologiques peut améliorer la qualité et la composition des acides gras des produits de bœuf

Bénéficiaires : Dr Benjamin M. Bohrer, Dr Ira B. Mandell Description du projet : Les objectifs globaux de cette recherche sont l’enquête sur les effets du remplacement des antibiotiques thérapeutiques (monensin et tylosin) par des solutions de rechange (mélange dʼhuiles essentielles et acide benzoïque) pour le bétail des parcs d’engraissement. Cette étude évaluera la performance de l’animal vivant, les caractéristiques de la carcasse, le coût de production, la qualité de la viande fraîche et les attributs sensoriels du faux-filet de bœuf et du bœuf haché. » Plus d'informations

L’amélioration de la nature durable de l’alimentation dʼaquaculture par lʼutilisation d’huiles génétiquement modifiées

Bénéficiaires : Dre Stefanie Colombo, Dr Michael Arts, Dr Richard Bazinet Description du projet : L’aquaculture jouera un rôle déterminant dans le maintien de la sécurité alimentaire mondiale dans l’avenir : jusquʼà 40 millions de tonnes métriques de produits de la mer seront requis dʼici 2030 pour nourrir la population humaine grandissante, et plus de 60 % des produits de la mer proviendront de lʼaquaculture. Certains des principaux avantages nutritionnels des produits de la mer sont les acides gras polyinsaturés oméga-3 à longue chaîne, à savoir l’acide eicosapentaénoïque (AEP) et lʼacide docosahexaénoïque (DHA), » Plus d'informations

Remplacement de production durable de protéines dʼorigine animale en lʼabsence d’antibiotiques

Bénéficiaires : Dr Shayan Sharif, Dr Raveendra Kulkarni, Dr Joshua Gong Description du projet : Les antibiotiques promoteurs de croissance (APC) ont été utilisés depuis des décennies dans la production de volaille pour la promotion de leur croissance. Cependant, en raison de l’interdiction mondiale d’utiliser des APC et des préoccupations grandissantes concernant la propagation de la résistance aux antibiotiques affectant la santé humaine, trouver des solutions de rechange aux antibiotiques est devenu une nécessité. Bien que les APC ont été efficaces pour réduire le fardeau des maladies entériques, » Plus d'informations

La gérance de la science de technologie pour la surveillance des résultats socioécologiques des pratiques dʼexploitation agricole

Bénéficiaires : Dr Zia Mehrabi, Dr Navin Ramankutty, Dre Hannah Wittman Description du projet : L’augmentation de l’utilisation de technologie et des données numériques (téléphones intelligents, Internet, observations satellite, réseau de surveillance des changements climatiques, modèles de récolte, apprentissage statistique) offre une façon d’aider les agriculteurs à gérer leurs actifs grâce à une efficacité élevée et à obtenir des profits plus élevés. Cela a été bien souligné par des fournisseurs de technologie de gestion de fermes commerciales. Les connaissances acquises en rassemblant ces données provenant de réseaux » Plus d'informations

Développement et normalisation des aliments en purée texturée pour la population âgée

Bénéficiaires : Dre Christine Moresoli, Dre Lisa Duizer, Dre Heather Keller Description du projet : La dysphagie, soit la difficulté à avaler, est une condition courante au sein de la population des adultes âgés. Près de la moitié des pensionnaires canadiens d’établissements de soins de longue durée (SLD) se font prescrire un régime contenant des textures modifiées, où leur nourriture sera coupée, hachée, réduite en purée ou liquéfiée. Une fois réduite en purée, la nourriture devient non identifiable, et son goût et son odeur peuvent devenir distinctement différentes de celles du repas d’origine. Ce changement dans lʼexpérience sensorielle » Plus d'informations

Développement de repas à base de légumineuses faciles à préparer destinés à la consommation par des employés de bureau pour lutter contre les conséquences négatives sur la santé dʼun environnement de travail sédentaire

Bénéficiaires : Dr Phil Chilibeck, Dr Gordon Zello, Dre Shannon Hood-Niefer Description du projet : Le projet impliquera la création d’environ sept dîners/collations «à base de légumineuses» conçus pour être faciles à préparer (c.-à-d. à consommer directement à la sortie de l’emballage) pour les personnes qui travaillent dans un environnement du bureau occupé typique. Les légumineuses sans huile incluent les lentilles, les pois chiches, les haricots et les pois, et celles-ci représentent un composant principal de lʼindustrie agricole canadienne. Ces repas/collations seront élaborés et mis à lʼessai pour en évaluer la satisfaction de la clientèle » Plus d'informations

La nutrition cachée : Améliorer la qualité nutritionnelle des aliments pour les adultes plus âgés

Bénéficiaires : Dre Heather Keller, Dre Liza Duizer, Dre Alison Duncan Description du projet : Lʼobjectif général de cette recherche est de développer des recettes alimentaires riches en vitamines, minéraux et autres éléments alimentaires reconnus pour soutenir la santé physique et mentale des adultes plus âgés. Une variété de recettes alimentaires améliorées seront initialement conçues pour les adultes plus âgés qui vivent dans des résidences, avec une applicabilité dans les cas de fragilité ou de préfragilité chez les adultes plus âgés vivant dans la communauté. On a posé l’hypothèse que la densité nutritionnelle » Plus d'informations

2019 | 2018 | 2017 | 2016