Board of Directors

The role of the Board is to provide governance and stewardship to George Weston Limited which consists of reviewing corporate strategy, assigning responsibility to management for achievement of that strategy, establishing limitations on the authority delegated to management, and overseeing performance against approved objectives. In fulfilling this role, the Board regularly reviews management’s strategic plans so that they continue to be responsive to the changing business environment in which the Company operates.

The Board oversees the Company’s approach to corporate governance, succession planning, capital structure and finance matters, risk management activities, compliance matters, internal control over financial reporting, disclosure controls and procedures, and information systems to ensure that we accurately and fairly report information to shareholders, other stakeholders and the public.

In addition, the Board is required to appoint corporate officers, and satisfy itself as to the integrity of senior management, that the Company engages in ethical and legal conduct and that senior management maintains a culture of integrity throughout the Company.

Galen G. Weston

Galen G. Weston, B.A., M.B.A.

Mr. Galen G. Weston is the Corporation’s Chairman and Chief Executive Officer. He is also the Chairman and Chief Executive Officer of Loblaw Companies Limited. He previously held several senior executive positions with Loblaw and its subsidiaries, including as President. Prior to joining Loblaw, he was an investment banking analyst for Salomon Brothers in the U.K.

Mr. Weston is Chairman and director of President’s Choice Bank and a director of Wittington Investments, Limited. Mr. Weston is also the former Chairman and a trustee of Loblaw’s subsidiary, Choice Properties Real Estate Investment Trust.

Alannah Weston

Alannah Weston 2

Ms. Weston was named Deputy Chairman of Selfridges Group Limited in 2014. Prior to her role as Deputy Chairman, she was the Creative Director of Selfridges from 2004 to 2014.

Ms. Weston is the Chair of the Selfridges Group Foundation. She is also on the boards of the Reta Lila Weston Trust and the Reta Lila Howard Foundation, based in the U.K., and Wittington Investments, Limited. Ms. Weston is also a former trustee of the Blue Marine Foundation.

Andrew A. Ferrier

Andrew A. Ferrier1, 2

Mr. Ferrier serves as the Executive Chairman of Canz Capital Limited (“Canz”), a private investment company located in New Zealand. Prior to founding Canz, Mr. Ferrier was the Chief Executive Officer of Fonterra Co-operative Group Limited, a New Zealand-based international dairy company, from 2003 to 2011. He was previously President and Chief Executive Officer and a director of GSW Inc., a Canadian consumer durable goods manufacturer, prior to which he held senior corporate roles in the sugar industry in Canada and internationally.

In addition to his public board memberships listed below, Mr. Ferrier serves as Board Chair of New Zealand Trade and Enterprise and a council member of the University of Auckland. He is the former Chairman of the Business New Zealand Major Companies Group CEO Forum.

Isabelle Marcoux

Isabelle Marcoux, B.A., LL.B.2*

Ms. Marcoux is Chair of the board of directors of Transcontinental Inc., a major Canadian printing, publishing and flexible packaging company. Prior to joining Transcontinental Inc. in 1998, Ms. Marcoux practiced corporate and securities law at McCarthy Tétrault LLP.

In addition to her public board memberships listed below, Ms. Marcoux serves as a director of the Montreal Children’s Hospital Foundation and is involved with numerous other non-profit organizations. Ms. Marcoux also serves as Chair of the Major Donors’ Circle, and co-chaired the 2016 campaign, of Centraide of Greater Montreal.

Sarabjit (Sabi) S. Marwah

Sarabjit (Sabi) S. Marwah 3

Mr. Marwah is a Senator with the Senate of Canada. Mr. Marwah is the former Vice-Chairman and Chief Operating Officer of The Bank of Nova Scotia.

In addition to his public board memberships listed below, Mr. Marwah serves as a trustee and Chair of the Hospital for Sick Children. He was past Chair of the Humber River Regional Hospital and a past member of the boards of directors of the C.D. Howe Institute and the Toronto International Film Festival.

Gordon M. Nixon

Gordon M. Nixon, C.M., O.Ont.1, 3

Mr. Nixon is the Chair of BCE Inc. and the former President and Chief Executive Officer of Royal Bank of Canada, a position he held from August 2001 to August 2014. Mr. Nixon first joined RBC Dominion Securities Inc. in 1979, where he held a number of operating positions, one of which was as Chief Executive Officer.

Mr. Nixon earned a Bachelor of Commerce (Honours) degree from Queen’s University and holds Honorary Doctorates of Laws from Queen’s University and Dalhousie University. He is a Member of the Order of Canada and the Order of Ontario.

In addition to his public board memberships listed below, Mr. Nixon sits on the Advisory Board of KingSett Canadian Real Estate Income Fund, L.P., is Chairman of MaRS Discovery District and is a trustee of the Art Gallery of Ontario.

J. Robert S. Prichard

J. Robert S. Prichard, O.C., O.Ont., LL.B., M.B.A., LL.M., LL.D.3*, 4

Mr. Prichard is the non-executive Chair of Torys LLP, Chair of the board of directors of Metrolinx, the regional transportation agency for the Greater Toronto and Hamilton Area, and Chair of Bank of Montreal. He is a former President and CEO of Metrolinx. Mr. Prichard is a past President and Chief Executive Officer and a former director of Torstar Corporation and President Emeritus of the University of Toronto.

In addition to his public board memberships listed below, Mr. Prichard is a trustee of the Hospital for Sick Children.

Robert Sawyer

Robert Sawyer 1, 2

Mr. Sawyer, a corporate director, is the former President and Chief Executive Officer of Rona Inc. Prior to this role, Mr. Sawyer held various senior executive roles with Metro Inc., including Executive Vice President and Chief Operating Officer.

Mr. Sawyer also sits on the board of Walter Group, a private investment company. He was formerly on the board of Accueil Bonneau and is the former President of the annual fundraiser of La Maison du Père and the food bank, Moisson Montreal.

Christie Strauss

Christi Strauss 1, 2

Ms. Strauss, a corporate director, is the former President and Chief Executive Officer of Cereal Partners Worldwide, a General Mills joint venture with Nestlé, a position she held from 2006 to 2012. Ms. Strauss joined General Mills in 1986 where she held various executive positions including the President of General Mills Canada from 1996 to 2006.

Ms. Strauss is a past chair of Advertising Standards Canada and Canadian Food Information Council. She is a former board member of The Stratford Festival and Food and Consumer Products of Canada.

Barbara Stymiest

Barbara Stymiest 1*, 3, 4

Ms. Stymiest, a corporate director, is a former member of the Group Executive of Royal Bank of Canada responsible for the overall performance of the bank. Ms. Stymiest is a former Chief Executive Officer of TMX Group Inc., Executive Vice-President and Chief Financial Officer at BMO Capital Markets and Partner of Ernst & Young LLP.

In addition to her public board memberships listed below, Ms. Stymiest is a director of President’s Choice Bank and serves as the Chair of the Canadian Institute for Advanced Research. She is also Vice Chair of the University Health Network and Chair of the Advisory Council for the Ivey Institute for Leadership.


1 Audit Committee
2 Risk and Compliance Committee
3 Governance, Human Resource, Nominating and Compensation Committee
4 Pension Committee
* Chair of the Committee