CPA Approved Training Office

Start your path to becoming a CPA at Canada’s largest food and drug retail Company

Our three-year rotational CPA Approved Program at George Weston Limited (Weston) offers the necessary structure and guidance you need to obtain your designation from exam preparation to professional experience, setting you up for success as a Weston employee and future CPA within our diverse group of companies.

The program enables you to build progressive skills and business acumen under the mentorship of experienced CPAs while working in our diverse group of companies and growing variety of departments which include:

  • Financial Reporting
  • Internal Audit
  • Financial Planning & Analysis
  • Internal Controls
  • Taxation

What to Expect How to Apply About Us

 

What to Expect

Since 2010, our 3-year rotational program has closely followed CPA Ontario guidelines to ensure all members are equipped to achieve both their professional exam and practical experience requirements to become CPAs. Our program has been designed to provide the resources and support you need to enable you to achieve your CPA goals while gaining broad experience to help kick start your career with us, Canada’s leading food and drug retail company, one of Canada’s largest publicly traded companies and largest private sector employer!

Diverse Practical Experience

At Weston, you will be offered a variety of paths to gain the practical experience you need to obtain your CPA while working in a choice of three of several different areas of focus while also having the opportunity to work at a variety of our companies – George Weston Limited, Weston Foods, Loblaw Companies Limited, Shoppers Drug Mart, or PC Financial.

Mentorship from experienced CPAs

From your first day at Weston and throughout the program, we will pair you with an experienced member of our Finance team to be your CPA mentor. Your mentor will help guide you through your practical experience requirements and offer support during your study leave and exams by offering valuable insight and guidance to ensure you’re equipped for success.

Professional Education Program

Our program provides financial support for the CPA Professional Education Program, including all applicable modules and exams, in-house training, additional support through Densmore as well as paid time off from work to prepare and best equip you to achieve your CPA and long-term career goals with us.

 

How to Apply

Recruitment process for this program starts mid-August through the end of September, a calendar year ahead of the program start date.

CPA Recruitment Process

 

About Us

George Weston Limited (Weston) is a Canadian public company founded in 1882. The Company has two reportable operating segments: Weston Foods and Loblaw Companies Limited (Loblaw), and holds cash and short term investments.

Through Weston’s control of Loblaw, a public company who owns Shoppers Drug Mart and President’s Choice Financial, it is Canada’s food and pharmacy leader, the nation’s largest retailer, and the majority unitholder of Choice Properties Real Estate Investment Trust. Loblaw provides Canadians with grocery, pharmacy, health and beauty, apparel, general merchandise, banking, and wireless mobile products and services.

Through Weston Foods, Weston is one of Canada’s leading bakers, offering a wide selection of fresh and frozen products to the North American market.

With over 200,000 employees, Weston is Canada's largest private sector employer. Weston is committed to creating value for its shareholders and employees, and to supporting the communities in which it operates.

Participating Companies

George Weston Limited
Loblaw Companies Limited
Shoppers Drug Mart
Weston Foods
Weston Foods

Message from Program Lead

Geoff Wilson - Program Lead George Weston Limited is pleased to be recognized as a CPA Approved Training Office by CPA Ontario. This accreditation reflects our commitment to developing talent within our diverse organization, responding to the changing business landscape in which we operate and being recognized as a leader in our industry.

Geoff Wilson, CPA, CA
SVP, Investor Relations,
George Weston Limited

Quotes from Current CPA Program Analyst

“The greatest benefits of being able to rotate amongst different companies are the networking opportunity and the ability to experience cultural nuances of each company.”

"My success in passing the CFE can be greatly attributed to the support and resources I’ve received in the GWL CPA Program."

“A volunteer of the Program also offered CFE review sessions along with study notes, and past participants of the Program graciously volunteered to mark our practice cases, providing invaluable feedback for writing the CFE.”

“The opportunity to work across several companies and types of businesses, and within different roles, is truly a unique experience only offered at GWL.”

Bureau de la formation approuvé par les CPA

Commencez votre parcours de CPA chez le plus important détaillant en alimentation et en médicaments au Canada.

Notre programme de rotation de trois ans approuvé par les CPA chez George Weston limitée (Weston) offre la structure et les conseils nécessaires pour obtenir votre titre, de la préparation à l’examen à l’expérience professionnelle, vous préparant au succès en tant qu’employé de Weston et futur CPA au sein de notre groupe diversifié d’entreprises.

Ce programme vous permet d’acquérir progressivement des compétences et un sens des affaires grâce au mentorat de CPA expérimentés, tout en travaillant au sein de notre groupe diversifié d’entreprises et de nos services toujours croissants, notamment :

  • Rapports financiers
  • Vérification interne
  • Planification financière et analyses
  • Vérifications internes
  • Fiscalité
À quoi s’attendre Comment faire une demande À propos de nous

 

À quoi s’attendre

Depuis 2010, notre programme de rotation de trois ans suit de près les lignes directrices des CPA de l’Ontario pour s’assurer que tous les membres sont en mesure de répondre aux exigences en matière d’examen professionnel et d’expérience pratique afin de devenir CPA. Notre programme a été conçu pour fournir les ressources et le soutien dont vous avez besoin pour atteindre vos objectifs de CPA tout en acquérant une vaste expérience pour vous aider à démarrer votre carrière chez nous, la plus importante entreprise canadienne de vente au détail d’aliments et de médicaments et l’une des plus grandes entreprises cotées en bourse du Canada et le plus important employeur du secteur privé!

Expérience pratique diversifiée

Chez Weston, vous aurez accès à plusieurs voies pour acquérir l’expérience pratique dont vous avez besoin pour obtenir votre titre de CPA tout en travaillant dans trois domaines d’intérêt différents, tout en ayant la possibilité de travailler dans une variété de nos entreprises : George Weston limitée, Weston Foods, Les Compagnies Loblaw Limitée, Shoppers Drug Mart/Pharmaprix ou PC Finance.

Mentorat offert par des CPA expérimentés

Dès votre premier jour chez Weston et tout au long du programme, nous vous jumèlerons avec un membre expérimenté de notre équipe des finances qui sera votre mentor CPA. Votre mentor vous guidera à travers vos exigences d’expérience pratique et vous offrira du soutien pendant votre congé d’étude et vos examens en vous offrant des conseils précieux pour assurer votre réussite.

Programme d’éducation professionnelle

Notre programme offre un soutien financier pour le programme de formation professionnelle de CPA, y compris tous les modules et examens applicables, la formation à l’interne, un soutien supplémentaire par l’intermédiaire de Densmore ainsi que des congés payés afin de vous préparer et de vous fournir les outils nécessaires pour atteindre vos objectifs professionnels pour obtenir votre titre et travailler à long terme avec nous.

 

Comment faire une demande

Le processus de recrutement pour ce programme commence à la mi-août et se termine à la fin septembre, une année civile avant la date de début du programme.

Calendrier et processus de recrutement

  1. Poste affiché à la mi-août
  2. Début septembre : limite pour présenter une demande et début de l’entrevue téléphonique
  3. Entrevues à la mi-septembre
  4. Offres en fin septembre
  5. Le programme débute après le mois de septembre

 

À propos de nous

George Weston Limited (Weston) est une société ouverte canadienne fondée en 1882. La société exerce ses activités dans ses deux secteurs d’exploitation devant être déclarés : Weston Foods et Les Compagnies Loblaw Limitée (Loblaw), et détient de l’argent et des investissements à court terme.

Grâce au contrôle de Loblaw par Weston, une société ouverte qui détient Shoppers Drug Mart/Pharmaprix et PC Finance, l’entreprise est le chef de file canadien dans les domaines de l’alimentation et de la pharmacie, le plus important détaillant au pays et le porteur de parts majoritaire de la Fiducie de placement immobilier Propriétés de Choix. Loblaw offre aux Canadiens des produits alimentaires, de pharmacie, de santé et de beauté, des vêtements, de la marchandise générale, ainsi que des produits et services bancaires et de téléphonie mobile.

Par le biais de Weston Foods, Weston est l’une des boulangeries dominantes au Canada, offrant une grande sélection de produits frais et surgelés sur le marché nord-américain.

Avec plus de 200 000 employés, Weston est le plus important employeur du secteur privé au Canada. Weston est déterminé à créer de la valeur pour ses actionnaires et ses employés et à soutenir les communautés dans lesquelles il exerce ses activités.