Funded Projects

The Seeding Food Innovation program was created to catalyze the development of trans-disciplinary research that address sustainable food and health challenges that will both impact Canadians and are of global concern. The program provides short-term grants of up to $250,000 as seed funding for novel, translational research projects.


SEEDING FOOD INNOVATION – AWARDED PROJECTS - 2019

Changing-climate resilient and multiple disease resistant cisgenic potato cultivars through genome editing

Grantees: Prof. Ajjamada Kushalappa, Dr. Maher Alsahlany and Mr. Andre Gagnon
Description: The farm gate value of Canadian potato production is about one billion dollars per year; for USA its much more. Potato diseases, such as late/early blights, scab and wilt, annually cause yield losses of about 15%, and upto 80% under favorable weather; changing climate. In addition, some pathogens reduce food quality by contaminating tubers with mycotoxins and enzymes. Genetic improvement of cultivars is the best mitigation strategy but it is challenging due to sexual incompatibility in potato. The Kushalappa-lab has identified several R genes » More Info


Intelligent Orchards: Redefining the Production and Management of Tree Fruits

Grantees: John Cline, Andrew Gadsden, Mohammad Biglarbegian, Amanda Green, Haipeng Xie and Andres Hurtado
Description: We live in a time with rising costs of production, less available and increased labour costs to harvest our agricultural crops, competition for limited arable land, and a changing climate. Global trade issues and food insecurity cause us to reflect on how Canadians will feed themselves as well as other countries that depend on our food. Fostering innovative tools for farmers to remain economically and environmentally sustainable is key to prevent disruptions in our food system and to maintain food sovereignty. » More Info


2020 Bee Vectoring-An Innovative Collaboration to Ecologically Intensify Bio-control in Strawberry Production

Grantees: Ms. Dorothy Susan Chan, Prof. Peter Kevan, Dr. Katarina Jordan, Mr. Jim Chaput, Mr. Wayne Adams, Mr. Kevin Schooley, Dr. Sarah Hargreaves, Ms. Anne Hayes and Mr. Mike Dimmock
Description: In flowering crops like strawberry, growers are in the unenviable position of having to control pests with chemical pesticides that may harm the bees they depend upon for pollination. To protect bees, respond to consumer demand for pesticide-free food, and reduce pest resistance, strawberry growers are increasingly looking for alternatives to pesticides such as bio-control agents. However, bio-control agents do not act as quickly as chemical pesticides, are costly, and must be applied repeatedly. What is gained in pesticide reduction maybe lost in » More Info


Effector-Enabled Mining of Wild Plants for Novel Crop Immunodiversity

Grantees: Prof. David Guttman, Prof. Darrell Desveaux, Dr. Gopal Subramaniam and Mr. Travis Banks.
Description: Background: Pathogens are constantly challenging our agricultural system. Farmers know that crop pathogens will destroy a significant proportion of their product before it makes it to consumers. These loses increase costs to producers and consumers, exacerbating socioeconomic pressures, and lead to significant food security challenges. To make matters worse, these stresses are expected to dramatically increase due to global climate change and human population growth. Breeding for resistance is the most effective way to control crop pathogens. » More Info


Intensifying Manomin (Zizania palustris) Growth in Environments Altered by Colonial Settlement in Ways that are Responsive to Anishinaabe Knowledge and Values

Grantees: Dr. Andrea Bradford, Dr. Brittany Luby, Dr. Ralph Martin, Dr. Barry Warner, Chief Lorraine Cobiness, Mr. Barry Henry, Mr. Allan Luby, Ms. Samantha Mehltretter, Ms. Margaret Lehman and Mr. Joe Barnes.
Description: The Anishinaabe people and others associate a drastic decline in manomin growing in the bays along the Upper Winnipeg River with changes in land use, altered water levels due to the construction and operation of hydropower dams, and the introduction of pollutants and invasive species after World War II. This two-year project investigates the activities and conditions affecting manomin productivity in partnership with Niisaachewan Anishinaabe Nation. The Manomin Research Project will develop strategies to restore wetlands that support » More Info


NextGen Amplified Sustainable Agriculture (NASA). It's About Space

Grantees: Dr. Rupp Carriveau, Dr. David S-K Ting, Dr. Jill Urbanic, Dr. Xiuming Hao, Mr. James Dyck, Ms. Niki Bennett, Mr. Lucas Semple, Mr. Stephen Fields, Dr. Tom Grochmal, Dr. Matt Davison and Dr. Lindsay Miller
Description: By 2050 some forecasts show global food demand increasing by 60%. To mitigate significant risks of global malnutrition, hunger, and conflict; food production needs to become more efficient and sustainable. Controlled Environment Agriculture (CEA) can produce higher yields at reduced spatial and environmental footprints. This control improves management of key elements like water, nutrients, and nutritional outcomes. These advantages come with a cost however; energy is among the greatest of these. Modern greenhouses and » More Info


A win/win approach to bioremediation of food-grade waste-streams: conversion to high-value foodstuffs through algal cultivation

Grantees: Prof. Hugh MacIntyre, Dr. Suzanne Budge, Dr. Patrick McGinn and Dr. Jenna Ritter
Description: Phytoplankton are excellent sources of nutrition, particularly omega-3 fatty acids such as eicosapentaenoic acid (EPA), protein, and antioxidant carotenoids. They are used worldwide for human dietary supplements and aquaculture feeds but production is limited by the energetic demands of cultivation. For many types of phytoplankton, these costs can be reduced significantly by supplying energy in the form of organic carbon. These forms are mixotrophic, meaning that they combine photosynthesis (harvesting light energy) with heterotrophy » More Info


Sustainable Water Management and Reduced Food Waste in the Fresh Produce Chain using Advanced Oxidative Process based Treatments

Grantees: Dr. Keith Warriner, Dr Ryan Prosser, Dr Tatiana Koutchma, Mark VanderVeen and Paul Moyer
Description: Project description: This project will develop two Advanced Oxidation Process (AOP) based technologies to reduce the levels of microbes and pesticides on fresh produce. The AOP process is based on the generation of highly reactive free-radicals with the power to inactivate microbes, degrade pesticides and remove constituents in water that contribute to pollutants. A traditional AOP process uses hydrogen peroxide as the source of these radicals which although effective, is costly, challenging to control and has a relatively low efficiency. » More Info

 

2019 | 2018 | 2017 | 2016

Projets subventionnés

Le programme Seeding Food Innovation a été créé pour catalyser le développement de la recherche transdisciplinaire qui aborde les défis alimentaires et de santé durables qui auront à la fois un impact sur les Canadiens et sont de préoccupation mondiale. Le programme offre des subventions à court terme pouvant atteindre 250 000 dollars à titre de financement de démarrage pour de nouveaux projets de recherche translationnelle.


PROGRAMME DE SUBVENTIONS POUR LES PROJETS D’INNOVATIONS ALIMENTAIRES 2019 SOMMAIRE DES PROJETS RETENUS

Des cultivars de pommes de terre cisgéniques résistant aux changements climatiques et à de multiples maladies grâce à l’édition du génome

Bénéficiaires : Prof. Ajjamada Kushalappa, Dr. Maher Alsahlany and Mr. Andre Gagnon
Description : La production canadienne de pommes de terre représente une valeur à la ferme d’environ un milliard de dollars par an, et cette valeur est beaucoup plus élevée aux États-Unis. Les maladies de la pomme de terre, comme l’alternariose, le mildiou, la gale et le flétrissement, entraînent chaque année des pertes de rendement d’environ 15 %, et jusqu’à 80 % lorsque les conditions météorologiques sont défavorables. De plus, certains agents pathogènes nuisent à l’innocuité des aliments en contaminant les tubercules avec des » Plus d'informations


Vergers intelligents : redéfinir la production et la gestion des arbres fruitiers

Bénéficiaires : John Cline, Andrew Gadsden, Mohammad Biglarbegian, Amanda Green, Haipeng Xie and Andres Hurtado
Description : Nous vivons à une époque où les coûts de production et de main-d’œuvre augmentent, où la main-d’œuvre se fait plus rare, où la concurrence pour des terres arables est de plus en plus féroce et où le climat change. Les questions de commerce mondial et d’insécurité alimentaire nous amènent à réfléchir à la manière dont les Canadiens, et les habitants d’autres pays dépendants de nos aliments produits, se nourriront Il est essentiel de favoriser des outils novateurs pour que l’agriculture demeure économiquement et écologiquement » Plus d'informations


Transport par agent pollinisateur 2020 : collaboration innovante pour intensifier de manière écologique la biolutte de la production de fraises

Bénéficiaires : Ms. Dorothy Susan Chan, Prof. Peter Kevan, Dr. Katarina Jordan, Mr. Jim Chaput, Mr. Wayne Adams, Mr. Kevin Schooley, Dr. Sarah Hargreaves, Ms. Anne Hayes and Mr. Mike Dimmock
Description : Dans les cultures à floraison comme la fraise, les producteurs sont dans la position peu enviable de devoir contrôler les parasites avec des pesticides chimiques pouvant nuire aux abeilles dont ils dépendent pour la pollinisation. Afin de protéger les abeilles, de répondre à la demande des consommateurs en matière de produits alimentaires sans pesticides et de réduire la résistance aux parasites, les producteurs de fraises recherchent de plus en plus des solutions de rechange aux pesticides, comme les agents de biolutte. » Plus d'informations


Utilisation innovante des plantes sauvages pour l’immunodiversité des cultures

Bénéficiaires : Prof. David Guttman, Prof. Darrell Desveaux, Dr. Gopal Subramaniam and Mr. Travis Banks.
Description : Les agents pathogènes mettent constamment au défi notre système agricole. Les agriculteurs savent que les agents pathogènes des cultures détruiront une part importante de leurs produits avant même qu’ils ne parviennent aux consommateurs. Ces pertes entraînent une augmentation des coûts pour les producteurs et les consommateurs, exacerbant les pressions socio-économiques, et conduisent à des défis importants en matière de sécurité des aliments. Qui plus est, ces pressions devraient augmenter de façon importante en raison » Plus d'informations


Intensification de la croissance de la zizanie (Zizania palustris) dans les lieux modifiés par la colonisation, selon des méthodes qui sont en accord avec les connaissances et les valeurs des Anishinaabe

Bénéficiaires : Dr. Andrea Bradford, Dr. Brittany Luby, Dr. Ralph Martin, Dr. Barry Warner, Chief Lorraine Cobiness, Mr. Barry Henry, Mr. Allan Luby, Ms. Samantha Mehltretter, Ms. Margaret Lehman and Mr. Joe Barnes.
Description : La zizanie, aussi connue sous le nom de riz sauvage, pousse dans l’eau et est récoltée par des cueilleurs autochtones. Durant des générations, la plante était un ingrédient de base de l’alimentation autochtone et une importante source d’aliments et d’habitats pour les animaux. Le peuple Anishinaabe et d’autres associent le déclin drastique de la zizanie poussant dans les baies le long de la Upper Winnipeg River aux changements dans l’utilisation des terres, à la modification des niveaux d’eau en raison de la construction et de l’exploitation » Plus d'informations


Agriculture durable amplifiée de nouvelle génération (NASA). C’est une question d’espace.

Bénéficiaires : Dr. Rupp Carriveau, Dr. David S-K Ting, Dr. Jill Urbanic, Dr. Xiuming Hao, Mr. James Dyck, Ms. Niki Bennett, Mr. Lucas Semple, Mr. Stephen Fields, Dr. Tom Grochmal, Dr. Matt Davison and Dr. Lindsay Miller
Description : D’ici 2050, certaines prévisions indiquent que la demande alimentaire mondiale augmentera de 60 %. Pour atténuer les risques importants de malnutrition, de faim et de conflit à l’échelle mondiale, la production alimentaire doit devenir plus efficace et plus durable. L’agriculture en environnement contrôlé (AEC) permet d’obtenir des rendements plus élevés avec une empreinte spatiale et environnementale réduite. Ce contrôle améliore la gestion des éléments clés comme l’eau, les nutriments et les valeurs nutritionnelles. Ces avantages » Plus d'informations


Approche profitable à tous pour la bioremédiation des flux de déchets alimentaires : la conversion en denrées alimentaires de haute valeur grâce à la culture d’algues

Bénéficiaires : Prof. Hugh MacIntyre, Dr. Suzanne Budge, Dr. Patrick McGinn and Dr. Jenna Ritter
Description : Le phytoplancton constitue une excellente source d’éléments nutritifs, et en particulier d’acides gras oméga-3, comme l’acide eicosapentanoïque (AEP), de protéines et de caroténoïdes antioxydants. On l’utilise partout dans le monde pour la fabrication d’aliments réservés à l’aquaculture et de suppléments alimentaires destinés à la consommation humaine, mais son usage est limité par les besoins énergétiques de sa culture. Pour de nombreux types de phytoplanctons, ces coûts peuvent être considérablement réduits » Plus d'informations


Gestion durable de l’eau et réduction des déchets alimentaires dans la chaîne des fruits et légumes frais au moyen de traitements à base d’un processus oxydatif avancé

Bénéficiaires : Dr. Keith Warriner, Dr Ryan Prosser, Dr Tatiana Koutchma, Mark VanderVeen and Paul Moyer
Description: Ce projet permettra de développer deux technologies basées sur le processus d’oxydation avancée (POA) pour réduire les quantités de microbes et de pesticides sur les produits frais. Le POA est basé sur la génération de radicaux libres très réactifs ayant la capacité d’inactiver les microbes, de dégrader les pesticides et d’éliminer les constituants dans l’eau qui contribuent à la pollution. Un POA traditionnel utilise le peroxyde d’hydrogène comme source de ces radicaux qui, bien qu’efficace, est coûteux, difficile à contrôler et présente » Plus d'informations

 

2019 | 2018 | 2017 | 2016